May 28, 2021

IECRM’s 2021 Wire-Off Winners

Live stream video footage.

The 2021 IECRM WireOff was a tough competition, which showcased all of the skills our apprentices are learning. We are proud of each student and pleased to say all participants walked away with many tools and prizes.

Thank you also to the contractors that supported their apprentices through this important competition. Without contractors like you and the talented apprentices you believe in and support, IECRM would not be what it is today — the largest apprenticeship program in the country!

What is the WireOff?

Each year across the country, hundreds of electricians in IEC (Independent Electrical Contractors) apprenticeship training programs put their newly honed skills to the test to compete live in the IEC National WireOff Qualifier Competition. The WireOff Competition is a full-day electrical challenge that tests proficiency in basic motor control circuits, line diagrams, materials, and circuit installation, and includes:
  • Forward/Reversing Motor Installation and Control.
  • Normally Open and Closed (NO/NC) Aux Contact Installation
  • Two Pole On-Delay Timer Installation
  • Installation of Four-Pole Relays – NO/NC Contacts
  • Indicator Light Installation
  • Installation of E-Stop w/ NC Contacts
  • Installation of Push-Button with NO/NC Contacts
  • Installation of 3 position Switch w/ 2 NO Contacts
  • Audible Signal Alarm Installation
  • Single Phase Non-Fused Disconnect Installation


4th Year Award Winners                               

  • 1st Place – Evan J. Nash – Piper Electric Co., Inc. (pictured to the right)
  • 2nd Place – Enrique Ramirez Jr. – Kenny Electric
  • 3rd Place – David R. Moore – Weifield Group Electrical Contracting

Click here to see the placement announcements

4th-Year Competitors – Click here to see the introductions

  • Isaac Contreras-Lopez – Encore Electric, Inc.
  • Jason J. Ehler – Weifield Group Electrical Contracting
  • Dustin Wayne Gold – Wayne’s Electric, Inc.
  • William Hutchison – Kenny Electric
  • ·David R. Moore – Weifield Group Electrical Contracting
  • Jason Motter – ABDR Electric, Inc.
  • Tim Mullineaux – Independent
  • Evan J. Nash – Piper Electric Co., Inc.
  • Enrique Viadal Ramirez Jr. – Kenny Electric
  • Ian Sahli – City Electric

IECRM will be represented by Evan Nash of Piper Electric Co., Inc. at the

IEC National Convention in Denver, CO, this October 2021 in the IEC National Wire-Off Competition!

Congratulations, Evan!

3rd Year Award Winners

  • 1st Place – Christian Veeder, Custom Electrical Contractors, Inc. (pictured to the right)
  • 2nd Place – Michael Deering, Lakewood Electric Company, Inc.
  • 3rd Place – Phillip Bowman, King Soopers

Click here to see the placement announcements

3rd-Year Competitors – Click here to see the introductions

  • Phillip L. Bowman – King Soopers
  • Michael M. Butler – Weifield Group Electrical Contracting
  • Marcus Coston – Encore Electric, Inc.
  • Michael Deering – Lakewood Electric Company, Inc.
  • Caleb Gibney-Mcguire – Montgomery Electric, Inc.
  • John Smith – Nobleman Electrical Contracting
  • Thomas Snapp – Productive Electric, LLC
  • Christian Veeder – Custom Electrical Contractors, Inc.
  • Joshua Westra – APCO Electric, Inc.

2nd Year Award Winners

  • 1st Place – Carmine Priolo – Carlton Electric, Inc. (pictured to the right)
  • 2nd Place – Nicholas B. Armitage – APCO Electric, Inc.
  • 3rd Place – Zachary Croft – Regency Electric, Inc.

Click here to see the placement announcements

2nd-Year Competitors – Click here to see the introductions

  • Nicholas B. Armitage – APCO Electric, Inc.
  • Zachary Croft – Regency Electric, Inc.
  • Jesse Blue Forvilly – Encore Electric, Inc
  • Jeremy Martinez – Independent
  • Lance C. Mestas – Eagle Electric
  • Peter J. Mullen – Indpendent
  • Carmine Priolo – Carlton Electric, Inc.
  • Kenneth Ryberg – All-Tech Electric
  • James Spindler – Fed Electric LLC
  • Kirill P. Yevdokimov – Eagle Electric

1st Year Award Winners                               

  • 1st Place – Matthew Gordon – Independent (pictured to the right)
  • 2nd Place – Austin Hazzard, Precision Service Electric, Inc.
  • 3rd Place – Emmett Spence, APCO Electric, Inc.

Click here to see the placement announcement

1st-Year Competitors – Click here to see the introductions

  • John Joseph Andreula
  • Riley B. Edmonds – Sun Valley Electric, Inc.
  • Matthew Gordon – Independent
  • ·Austin J. Hazzard – Precision Service Electric, Inc.
  • Ryan Holroyd – Encore Electric, Inc.
  • Nicholas Ryan Martino – Winn Marion Companies
  • ·Daryl Philbeck Putnam – Rosewood Electrical
  • Emmett S. Spence – APCO Electric, Inc.
  • Keyan Teegerstrom – APCO Electric, Inc.
  • Seth Watson – Independent



IDEAL Industries, Inc.

Milwaukee Tool

Casey Bergquist




A Message from IECRM CEO Marilyn Akers Stansbury





Pinnacle Assurance

Thank you to our valuable partners who donated tools and product for the Wire-Off Competition and placeholders:

  • AIS
  • Casey Bergquist
  • Dewalt/Lennox
  • IDEAL – Lunch Sponsor
  • iPro
  • ·Legrand
  • Milwaukee – Competitors’ Shirt Sponsor
  • Pinnacol Assurance – Safety Sponsor
  • And More!

Thank you, sponsors!
Lunch Sponsor

IDEAL Industries - IECRM Industry Partner


Competition Shirt Sponsor

Milwaukee Tool - IECRM Industry Partner

Safety Sponsor

Thank you, tool and product donors!











Legrand - IECRM Silver Partner

Click here to see the behind-the-scenes photos taken during the event.

IECRM is a trade association for the electrical contracting and renewable energy industry and a four-year apprenticeship training program that prepares the next generation electrician for journeyman licensure. We represent more than 250 companies in the electrical industry in Colorado and train more than 2500 apprentices, electricians, the largest IEC Apprenticeship program in the U.S.